IBPS has released the detailed notification for CRP CSA-XVI — the Common Recruitment Process for Customer Service Associates (CSA), popularly known as IBPS Clerk, for vacancies of 2027-28. A total of 11,403 indicative vacancies have been notified across 11 Participating Public Sector Banks, with online registration opening on 1st August 2026 and closing on 21st August 2026.
This guide covers vacancy details, eligibility, salary, exam pattern, fee, and the application process, based directly on the official IBPS notification.

At a Glance
| Particulars | Details |
|---|---|
| Recruiting Body | Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS) |
| Common Recruitment Process | CRP CSA-XVI |
| Post Name | Customer Service Associate (CSA) |
| Vacancy Cycle | 2027-28 |
| Number of Vacancies | 11,403 (indicative; Union Bank of India yet to report) |
| Age Bracket | 20–28 years (as on 01.08.2026) |
| Minimum Qualification | Graduate in any discipline |
| Basic Pay | ₹24,050 (starting), rising per scale to ₹64,480 |
| Mode of Application | Online |
| Application Opens | 1st August 2026 |
| Application Closes | 21st August 2026 |
| Online Prelims Exam | October 2026 |
| Online Mains Exam | December 2026 |
| Provisional Allotment | March 2027 |
| Official Portal | www.ibps.in |
Important Dates
| Activity | Tentative Schedule |
|---|---|
| Online Registration | 01.08.2026 – 21.08.2026 |
| Payment of Application Fee/Intimation Charges | 01.08.2026 – 21.08.2026 |
| Edit Window (Form Correction) | 2 days after registration closes |
| Pre-Examination Training (PET) | September 2026 |
| Online Preliminary Examination | October 2026 |
| Preliminary Result | November 2026 |
| Online Main Examination | December 2026 |
| Provisional Allotment | March 2027 |
Participating Banks
This is a Common Recruitment Process — one exam gets you into the merit pool for any of these 11 Participating Public Sector Banks:
| Banks | Banks | Banks |
|---|---|---|
| Bank of Baroda | Canara Bank | Indian Overseas Bank |
| UCO Bank | Bank of India | Central Bank of India |
| Punjab National Bank | Union Bank of India | Bank of Maharashtra |
| Indian Bank | Punjab & Sind Bank |
Since clerical recruitment is done State/UT-wise, candidates can apply for vacancies in only one State/UT, and provisional allotment goes to one Participating Bank based on merit-cum-preference within that State/UT.
Key Takeaways
- Selection is common across all 11 banks — you don’t choose a bank at the exam stage.
- Provisional allotment is decided by merit-cum-preference after Mains.
- You can apply for only one State/UT, and this choice is irrevocable once submitted.
State/UT-wise Vacancy Break-up (Indicative)
| State/UT | SC | ST | OBC | EWS | UR | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Andaman & Nicobar | 0 | 1 | 5 | 1 | 11 | 18 |
| Andhra Pradesh | 33 | 11 | 53 | 14 | 75 | 186 |
| Arunachal Pradesh | 0 | 19 | 0 | 4 | 22 | 45 |
| Assam | 26 | 41 | 97 | 30 | 155 | 349 |
| Bihar | 89 | 1 | 146 | 42 | 213 | 491 |
| Chandigarh | 4 | 0 | 4 | 1 | 11 | 20 |
| Chhattisgarh | 33 | 82 | 13 | 23 | 114 | 265 |
| Dadra & Nagar Haveli | 0 | 6 | 1 | 1 | 10 | 18 |
| Daman & Diu | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 6 | 7 |
| Delhi (NCT) | 65 | 35 | 123 | 36 | 156 | 415 |
| Goa | 0 | 5 | 10 | 5 | 41 | 61 |
| Gujarat | 50 | 103 | 194 | 63 | 288 | 698 |
| Haryana | 39 | 0 | 56 | 15 | 86 | 196 |
| Himachal Pradesh | 25 | 4 | 18 | 8 | 42 | 97 |
| Jammu & Kashmir | 2 | 6 | 17 | 4 | 38 | 67 |
| Jharkhand | 19 | 45 | 21 | 14 | 83 | 182 |
| Karnataka | 224 | 101 | 386 | 136 | 567 | 1,414 |
| Kerala | 9 | 0 | 29 | 8 | 62 | 108 |
| Ladakh | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 6 |
| Lakshadweep | 0 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 6 | 11 |
| Madhya Pradesh | 91 | 114 | 98 | 49 | 218 | 570 |
| Maharashtra | 117 | 96 | 291 | 95 | 452 | 1,051 |
| Manipur | 0 | 12 | 3 | 3 | 24 | 42 |
| Meghalaya | 0 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 17 | 22 |
| Mizoram | 0 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 11 | 17 |
| Nagaland | 0 | 11 | 0 | 2 | 18 | 31 |
| Odisha | 55 | 70 | 40 | 29 | 143 | 337 |
| Puducherry | 1 | 0 | 5 | 1 | 19 | 26 |
| Punjab | 150 | 0 | 106 | 40 | 185 | 481 |
| Rajasthan | 67 | 53 | 84 | 35 | 153 | 392 |
| Sikkim | 0 | 4 | 4 | 3 | 17 | 28 |
| Tamil Nadu | 137 | 5 | 213 | 58 | 262 | 675 |
| Telangana | 29 | 18 | 48 | 16 | 80 | 191 |
| Tripura | 10 | 17 | 0 | 5 | 32 | 64 |
| Uttar Pradesh | 375 | 17 | 508 | 159 | 672 | 1,731 |
| Uttarakhand | 24 | 2 | 17 | 11 | 91 | 145 |
| West Bengal | 236 | 49 | 224 | 83 | 354 | 946 |
| All-India Total | 1,910 | 942 | 2,815 | 996 | 4,740 | 11,403 |
Note: Vacancies for Union Bank of India are marked “NR” (Not Reported) for every State/UT in the official annexure and are excluded from the totals above — so the actual all-India figure will rise once Union Bank reports its numbers. All figures are indicative and subject to the actual vacancies reported by Participating Banks at the time of provisional allotment.
Download Official Notification
Key Takeaways
- Karnataka (1,414), Uttar Pradesh (1,731), and Maharashtra (1,051) carry the highest indicative vacancies.
- Union Territories such as Ladakh, Lakshadweep, and Daman & Diu have the smallest openings.
- Union Bank of India’s numbers are still pending — the real total will be higher.
Expert Tip
Pick your State/UT carefully before you register — this choice cannot be changed later, and it determines your exam centre, your Local Language Proficiency requirement, and which bank you can be provisionally allotted to.
Eligibility Criteria
Nationality: A candidate must be a citizen of India, a subject of Nepal or Bhutan, a Tibetan refugee who came to India before 1st January 1962 with the intention of settling permanently, or a person of Indian origin who has migrated from specified countries with the intention of permanently settling in India (categories other than Indian citizens require a Government of India eligibility certificate).
Age Limit (as on 01.08.2026): Minimum 20 years, Maximum 28 years — candidates must be born between 02.08.1998 and 01.08.2006 (both dates inclusive).
Educational Qualification (as on 21.08.2026): A degree (graduation) in any discipline from a University recognised by the Government of India, or an equivalent qualification. Candidates must indicate their graduation percentage while registering.
Language Proficiency: Candidates must be proficient in reading, writing, speaking, and understanding the specified local language of the State/UT they apply for. A 10th standard or above mark sheet showing that language exempts candidates from the Local Language Proficiency Test (LLPT); otherwise, the test is conducted after the Mains exam but before joining, and is qualifying in nature.
Computer Literacy: Candidates must have operating/working knowledge of computer systems — a certificate, diploma, or degree in computer operations, or having studied Computer/IT as a subject in school or college.
Age Relaxation
| Category | Age Relaxation |
|---|---|
| SC/ST | 5 years |
| OBC (Non-Creamy Layer) | 3 years |
| Persons with Benchmark Disabilities | 10 years |
| Ex-Servicemen/Disabled Ex-Servicemen | Actual service rendered + 3 years (8 years for SC/ST DESM), max age 50 |
| Widows/divorced/judicially separated women (not remarried) | Up to 35 years (Gen/EWS), 38 years (OBC), 40 years (SC/ST) |
Key Takeaways
- The age relaxation rules stack only partially — SC/ST/OBC relaxation can combine with just one of the remaining categories, not all of them.
- OBC candidates must submit a Non-Creamy Layer certificate dated on or after 01.04.2026.
Application Fee
| Category | Fee |
|---|---|
| SC / ST / PwBD / ESM / DESM | ₹175/- (inclusive of GST) |
| All other candidates | ₹850/- (inclusive of GST) |
Payment window: 1st August 2026 to 21st August 2026 (online mode only). Bank transaction charges, if any, are borne by the candidate. A separate correction fee of ₹200/- applies if candidates use the Edit Window after registration closes.
Salary Structure
The Customer Service Associate (CSA) post carries the following pay scale, as per the official notification:
Basic Pay: ₹24,050 – 1340(3) – 28,070 – 1650(3) – 33,020 – 2000(4) – 41,020 – 2340(7) – 57,400 – 4400(1) – 61,800 – 2680(1) – 64,480
In addition to Basic Pay, CSAs are eligible for allowances and perquisites as per the rules of the Participating Bank they are allotted to, which vary from bank to bank. The notification does not specify a consolidated gross/in-hand figure — actual take-home pay depends on the allotted bank’s allowance structure and posting location.
Learn more about IBPS Clerk Salary
Expert Tip
Don’t compare “Basic Pay” figures across different recruitment notices as if they were take-home salary — always check whether a quoted number includes allowances, since this varies widely by bank and city.
Selection Procedure
Selection is a two-tier online examination:
- Online Preliminary Examination (objective, qualifying in nature) — shortlists candidates for Mains
- Online Main Examination (objective) — marks from Mains alone are used for final merit
- Local Language Proficiency Test (LLPT) — qualifying, conducted after Mains but before joining (waived for candidates with 10th standard language proof)
- Document Verification and Provisional Allotment to one of the Participating Banks, based on merit-cum-preference within the applied State/UT
Exam Pattern — Preliminary Examination
| Test | Questions | Marks | Duration |
|---|---|---|---|
| English Language | 30 | 30 | 20 minutes |
| Numerical Ability | 35 | 35 | 20 minutes |
| Reasoning Ability | 35 | 35 | 20 minutes |
| Total | 100 | 100 | 60 minutes |
Exam Pattern — Main Examination
| Test | Questions | Marks | Duration |
|---|---|---|---|
| General/Financial Awareness | 40 | 50 | 20 minutes |
| General English | 40 | 40 | 35 minutes |
| Reasoning Ability | 40 | 60 | 35 minutes |
| Quantitative Aptitude | 40 | 50 | 35 minutes |
| Total | 160 | 200 | 125 minutes |
Each test in both Prelims and Mains is separately timed. There is a penalty of 0.25 marks for every wrong answer; unattempted questions carry no penalty. Candidates must qualify in each of the three Prelims tests individually and clear category-wise cut-offs to be shortlisted for Mains.
Key Takeaways
- Only Mains marks count toward final merit — Prelims is purely a qualifying/shortlisting round.
- Sectional timing means you can’t borrow time from one test to finish another.
How to Apply
Applications must be submitted online via the official IBPS portal (www.ibps.in), following the “CRP CSA” link on the homepage. Candidates need to register, upload a photograph, signature, left thumb impression, a handwritten declaration, and their 10th standard/equivalent certificate, then complete online fee payment. A 2-day Edit Window is provided after registration closes for limited corrections.
Note: This is a summary for quick reference. Applicants must read the full official CRP CSA-XVI notification on IBPS’s website before applying, to avoid missing any eligibility or procedural detail.
Best Online Mock Tests
A good mock test series matters as much as your books, since it’s the only way to genuinely simulate exam-day pressure and sectional timing for IBPS Clerk Prelims and Mains. Oliveboard, PracticeMock, Guidely, and Smartkeeda are among the widely used platforms, each offering full-length tests, sectional practice, and detailed performance analytics. If you’re looking for a discount code before buying a test series, it’s worth comparing the latest offers on Karmasetu.in first — pricing and validity periods change fairly often.
Mock Test Coupon Comparison
| Platform | Coupon Code | Discount |
|---|---|---|
| Oliveboard | CEOB20 | Maximum discount |
| PracticeMock | COUPONEDGE | 69% off |
| Guidely | CEDGE12 | Extra 12% off |
| Smartkeeda | COUPONEDGE | Maximum discount |
Frequently Asked Questions
11,403 indicative vacancies have been notified across 11 Participating Banks, though Union Bank of India’s vacancies are yet to be reported and will add to this figure.
Candidates must be aged 20 to 28 years as on 01.08.2026, with relaxations applicable per category norms.
A graduation degree in any discipline from a recognised university, along with proficiency in the local language of the applied State/UT.
21st August 2026 is the last date to register and pay the application fee.
The starting Basic Pay is ₹24,050, rising through the scale to ₹64,480, plus bank-specific allowances.
Online Prelims is tentatively scheduled for October 2026, and Online Mains for December 2026, with Provisional Allotment in March 2027.
Bank of Baroda, Bank of India, Bank of Maharashtra, Canara Bank, Central Bank of India, Indian Bank, Indian Overseas Bank, Punjab National Bank, Punjab & Sind Bank, UCO Bank, and Union Bank of India.
Karmasetu is a dedicated team of government job researchers and exam
enthusiasts based in West Bengal. With a combined experience of tracking
central and state government recruitments across India, the team covers
SSC, Railway, Banking, Defence, and State PSC notifications — verified
directly from official sources.
Our goal is simple: give every job seeker in India accurate, timely,
and easy-to-understand recruitment information so they never miss an
opportunity. Every article on Karmasetu is written after reading the
official notification PDF, cross-checked for eligibility details, and
updated whenever official changes are announced.
Follow us on Telegram (@karmasetu) for instant job alerts.